Writing Advice / Writing Inspiration

the mountain

I’ve been reading Robert Frost’s collected poems, and when I got to ‘The Mountain’ there were two lines in particular that really struck me.

It doesn’t seem so much to climb a mountain

You’ve worked around the foot of all your life.

I saw the metafiction in these words, heard what advice Frost was giving me about writing (and about myself). At the moment my mountain is the first draft of my first ever novel.

The thing is, I started writing it a while ago, freaked out, and scrapped it. And I can feel myself standing at the foot of that mountain (I know it’s a mountain because Roald Dahl had the same idea) and wanting to turn back.

Then Frost came out of nowhere and made me think. Why be afraid? I’ve been writing my whole life and always known this mountain was here.

All I have to do is take step after step, make word after word.

4 thoughts on “the mountain

Leave a Reply

