Quotes / Writing Advice / Writing Inspiration

like a long walk

I like walking when the sun is going down. But if writing is like walking then you can’t always choose when you set off or where you’re going.

Roald Dahl once said that

When you’re writing it’s rather like going on a long walk, across valleys and mountains and things, and you get the first view of what you see and you write it down… The highest mountain on the walk is obviously the end of the book because it’s got to be the best view of all, when everything comes together and you can look back and see everything you’ve done all ties up. But it’s a very, very long slow process.

I’m currently writing the first chapter of my first ever novel, and it feels just as Mr. Dahl said.

Sometimes my walk through the writing is brisk, sometimes I don’t want to lift my feet, sometimes the hill looks so steep that I just want to sit at the bottom for a while.

But that’s the thing about walking. It’s just putting one foot in front of the other. It’s about seeing that mountain and wanting to turn back, but instead you tie your shoelaces, make a start, and write it all down.

 

5 thoughts on “like a long walk

  1. Congrats on starting your first book, Kyra. You’ll have a great journey … enjoy all the ups and downs and everything in between. Looking forward to hearing all about your progress.

    • Thanks! No, I’m not NaNo-ing this year. I started this project a while ago and scrapped the beginning so now I’m coming back to start again. I’m just kind of taking my time with it and seeing what happens 🙂

      Are you doing NaNoWriMo?

  2. Pingback: the mountain | little rockets

Leave a Reply

