Writing Advice / Writing Inspiration

News to Story

I hardly ever get story ideas. It never just ‘comes to me’, and most of the time if I want to write a story I have to sit down and work really hard just to come up with a concept. And I know I’m not the only one.

But I came across this article about getting story ideas from the news, and it got me thinking: this could really work for me.

I haven’t been writing much at all lately (guilty), but I watch the news every day. So I’m going to make this a thing.

Every day I’ll come up with a story idea and tuck it away in a word document. If all goes well, before I know it I’ll be swamped with ideas and be writing my butt off.

And it doesn’t just have to be plots (although more plots would be nice); there’s characters, dialogue, settings, story objects. Yes please.

 

4 thoughts on “News to Story

  1. I sometimes use a free Writing Prompts app from Writing.Com. You can get all types of prompts with it. I also like doing different Weekly challenges on WordPress, which have prompts to them. Just a couple of ideas.

    • I like writing prompts, but I often just churn out a few paragraphs and that’s it. I like that it allows you to do a few quick exercises, but I also like the idea of the news stories sparking new characters (which I also need help with) and settings etc. I think it’s great that you can get apps for writing prompts though šŸ™‚ Something I might have to look into…

  2. The news is always a good jumping board, and really, some of the stories that make it as headlines are more bizarre than fiction!

Leave a Reply

