Writing Advice

Tips for First Person Narration

I don’t often like writing in first person. It gives me this odd ‘stuck’ feeling. But writing in third person all the time can get boring after a while, and I want to change up my perspective without feeling immobile within the story.

So when I saw this article about Overcoming the Limitations of First Person POV I couldn’t help but need to know. Write to Done have provided 5 tips for getting around that pesky first person problem. A few of them I’d used before without realising, but my new faves are:

  • Introducing a ‘time slip’
  • Letting body language ‘speak’ a character’s thoughts

I haven’t used either of these techniques before (that I can remember), and next time I go to write in first person I’ll definitely remember them (the body language one is especially sneaky).

4 thoughts on “Tips for First Person Narration

Leave a Reply

