Quotes / Writing Advice / Writing Inspiration

the baroque is over

Only Hemingway could make me think of matadors, minimalism, and architecture when talking about the craft of writing. What a champ.

Find what gave you emotion; what the action was that gave you excitement. Then write it down making it clear so that the reader can see it too. Prose is architecture, not interior decoration, and the Baroque is over.

Bam.

I’ve taken a detour from writing lately, and felt a little guilty about it. Maybe I just need to find that emotion and excitement again. Maybe I need to knock down and re-build. Maybe I should grow a beard while I think about it.

4 thoughts on “the baroque is over

  1. When I am in those moods I feel it is helpful to sit down in a quiet place with my journal and just write the words that come to me. My aunt writes in a journal every morning no matter where she is or what she is doing, and that writing is separate from the professional writing she attempts later in the day.

Leave a Reply

