Announcements / Books / Writing Inspiration

Storyteching: UPDATE

A few weeks ago I blogged about interactive novels in my post ‘Storyteching’ and got a bit of a mixed bag of responses, which is always nice to see.

I mentioned an article in the post, that reviewed a new interactive adaptation of John Buchan’s novel The Thirty-Nine Steps. I wasn’t able to fully comment on the adaptation myself as I hadn’t seen it, but UPDATE!

The producers of The 39 Steps book/game, The Story Mechanics, sent me a free copy to play/read/navigate on Steam. I was super excited, and I haven’t finished with it just yet (my uni work schedule at the moment is kind of insane) so stay tuned for a proper review.

From what I’ve seen so far there are a lot of redeeming qualities to this medium of story, and I know you’re gonna be on the edge of your writerly seats to hear all the juicy bits.

I can’t make any promises as to when I’ll be done, but be sure to check back every now and then to get the full littlerockets run down on The 39 Steps.

2 thoughts on “Storyteching: UPDATE

  1. With the ever growing pervasiveness of social media I feel that interactive novels are the future. I had a rather heated discussion with a friend about piracy of books, movies, and music. His argument was that content creators must come up with new models for content because people will pirate their content. That’s unavoidable. I think that interactive stories are one way to adapt to piracy. The author would be part of the reading experience and not just one and done.

    • I watched an interview on TV with writer Scott Westerfeld who wrote an illustrated book called Leviathan (which I haven’t read but would love to). He talked about how the pictures he got back from his illustrator made him think of the story in a new way and would spark the narrative to go in new directions that would incorporate the more visually pleasing pictures.

      I think it’ll be interesting to see how writers of the future think about their books in new ways that will present a story to the reader that isn’t just pleasing to the imagination, but to their senses as well. There are so many strategies to make a story exciting apart from words, and with technology going the way it is (e-readers, etc.) it won’t be hard to make interactive books popular, as long as they get the formula right.

      There are plenty of things in The 39 Steps that I would love to see in everyday novels, but I’ll get to those in my upcoming review!

Leave a Reply

