Books / Uncategorized

Colouring the Classics

We may gloss over the kinds of colours used in the novels we read, but visual artist Jaz Parkinson‘s latest project allows us to see books in a whole new light. She’s basically tallied up all the references to colour in a bunch of classic novels and charted them out to create posters that look something like this:

Pretty cool, huh? I love the dash of green that comes into the end. You can find more colour charted books in this gallery, they’re worth a look.

It’s interesting to think about colour in a story or book as a kind of progressive pallette, something that gradually grows with the narrative and reflects the story content.

Parkinson’s project has just proved to me that colour is something I should think about more, beyond the images of the moment I’m writing about, and more about how the novel will look (and feel) as a whole work of art.

I imagine  the colour chart of my novel would feature a lot of shades of greys, reds, and oranges, and I kind of like that I can visualise it all now, because colour can say a lot about feeling and atmosphere. What colours would your book be?

Leave a Reply

