Announcements / Competitions / Opportunities

Monash Undergraduate Prize 2013

I’m super excited about this one because it’s such a great prize and I know for a fact that is completely achievable (two people in my creative writing class having been shortlisted last year – go them!). This is my last year as an undergraduate, so I guess I’d better work out what I’m writing and get to it!

Monash University and the Emerging Writers’ Festival hold the Monash Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing. Don’t be fooled by it’s name, you don’t need to be from Monash Uni to have a go. You do have to be an undergraduate student though, so that probably rules a fair few people out (sorry).

There’s no theme for the competition this year and the story can be anything from short story to narrative verse within 1500-3000 words. First place prize is $4000. Yes, $4000. And there’s no entry fee. Are you as excited as I am yet? You can find more about the prize here.

Submissions deadline is April 15 2013 so get writing and editing and sending!

4 thoughts on “Monash Undergraduate Prize 2013

Leave a Reply

