Books / Writing Inspiration

Bookshop Cafes

There’s nothing nicer than sitting down with a good book and a great cup of coffee. Or tea, if that’s what you’re into. I once visited a bookshop in the NSW town of Berry which had a cafe attached to it; it was the sweetest little shop, where I bought the most lovely copy of Ariel by Sylvia Plath.

So when I read this article detailing the rise in bookshop cafes in Korea, run entirely by publishing houses, I was excited. I’d love for this idea to come to Australia.

You’re probably thinking, ‘What’s so special about these bookshop cafes?’ Well one publishing house in Korea, the Munkahdongne Publishing Group were able to sell all their leftover books in their cafe at a discounted rate of 50%. Sounds pretty amazing, huh?

Cheap books and coffee, you can’t really go wrong there. It would’ve also been nice to by Ariel for cheaper, instead of the exorbitant amount I handed over (but the cover was so pretty!).

Being run by the publishing house means they have a definitive shop-front, where some of them even hold business meetings and writing events.

If there was a place like this near me, a place that mixed writing as a business with writing as a pleasure, I’d be there all the time. I’d feel like I was a part of it all, not just a consumer to a faceless company. Did I mention there’s also coffee?

8 thoughts on “Bookshop Cafes

  1. Are bookshops with cafes uncommon down there? So many bookstores have partnerships with coffee chains in North America, that I actually can’t remember the last time I visited a bookstore that didn’t have one. Even the independent bookstore in my hometown had a cafe. I’m not aware of any publishing house bookstores/cafes here, though.

    • Oh we have bookshops with cafes, though the only ones I’m familiar with are in the cities and expensive tourist areas rather than everyday suburban towns like mine, where in fact, most bookstores have been closing down entirely (so sad).

      I mean, the idea of actual publishing houses running the bookstore cafes and therefore being able to sell their books at a discounted rate, that’s what really grabs me. That and being able to see the publishers having their meetings and walking around. It sounds nice :]

Leave a Reply

