Quotes / Uncategorized / Writing Inspiration

that’s an ill phrase

Ever think of Shakespeare as a rapper? I can imagine it.

He’s telling someone about this new play he’s written, and “he’s nervous but on the surface he looks calm and ready to drop bombs, but he keeps on forgetting what he wrote down” and “with coast to coast shows he’s known as the globe-trotter”. Get it? Globe trotter? Enough with the bad Eminem mash-up? Yeah, okay.

But if some of Shakespeares lines are anything to go by, he was the sickest rapper of his time. Here’s a site with some lines from Shakespeare that are “easily mistaken for hip hop lyrics”.

I’m reading Hamlet at the moment, and I had a flicker of this thought the other day when I read someone say “Holla!” – when did the Danish royal court become a high school? It doesn’t matter. All that matters is that there are lines like:

I’ll teach you how to flow.

Oh yeah? Cool. What else, Willy?

I am the dog: no, the dog is himself, and I am the dog – Oh! the dog is me, and I am myself.

I think it’s spellt ‘dawg’, but I’ll let that one slip.

Now I’m going to read the rest of Hamlet as if it were being rapped. This is gonna be awesome.

Leave a Reply

