Books / Uncategorized

you’re on a deserted island…

And you have to choose 5 books to keep your sanity intact until help arrives.

It’s something we’ve all thought about at some point, and as much as we’d all love to take a shopping trolley or a truck full of books with us to that lonely spit of land, we can’t. Them’s the rules.

My survival books, the ones I’d stash in a bag if there was a zombie outbreak or a fire was tearing through my neighbourhood, would have to be:

  1. The Witching Hour by Anne Rice
  2. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  3. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
  4. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  5. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Okay, that was surprisingly harder than I thought it would be. I wanted to pick books I loved, but books that were large and would take me a while to get through. I wanted to pick every Harry Potter book, but couldn’t. That’s cheating, in my eyes. Here’s some books that other people picked.

So, what would you choose?

4 thoughts on “you’re on a deserted island…

  1. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace…because I have yet to get though this monster book, while NOT stranded on a zombie-free island. Anna Karenina by Tolstoy, for the same reason. Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse 5, my favorite. Thoreau’s complete works would have to make the list. Last,but not least, In Cold BLood by Truman capote…just for the details. 😉

  2. I hate blogging on the phone. The website hasn’t fully loaded… That’s my excuse. My reply on 5 books is under the Agent competition thread!
    I can’t copy & paste on the phone! Sorry… Feel free to copy it here and scrap the other reply.

Leave a Reply

