Uncategorized / Writing Inspiration

resolutions of the famous

We’ve all had them at some point, so it’s no surprise that famous people have been making and breaking new year’s resolutions for centuries.

This short list of four famous people’s vows to change their lives is thought-provoking to say the least. I can relate to this resolution of Jonathan Swift, which he made in 1699:

Not to tell the same story over and over to the same People.

Oh, I hear ya Jonathan. So does my boyfriend, who probably wishes that I’d made this resolution too.

But maybe I should have gone more toward the direction of Susan Sontag, and made a resolution about writing. In 1977 Sontag said that:

I will write in the Notebook every day.

Now there’s something I could follow. Simple. Useful. None of this “I will count calories every day” shit. Writing, that’s where all my resolutions should lie.

Maybe it’s not too late for this article about writer’s resolutions. Maybe I can still put my hand to my heart and take a solemn vow to “Make time for my writing every day”, like a minimum half an hour or something.

Maybe your resolutions were about becoming a better writer, and maybe they weren’t. Maybe we’ll follow them, though we’ll probably give up half way through. Maybe we’ll buy puppies or get hit by an asteroid. I’m not sure why we feel the need to make them in the first place, but maybe this year will be the year we follow our resolutions to the end.

Good luck, everybody!

2 thoughts on “resolutions of the famous

  1. Yes I don’t think we have to feel alone in breaking New Year’s Resolutions. Love the post. I too vow to make time to write everyday… or at least think about doing it. 🙂

    • Thanks Maggie! Thinking about writing can sometimes be as good as writing itself – we’ve gotta get inspiration from somewhere! I’ve made writing a side-resolution, and so far it’s working pretty well :]

Leave a Reply

